August Shortstop Rankings

Posted: August 2, 2011 in Rankings

By David Kerr

August Top 20 Shortstop Rankings

1. Jose Reyes, Mets
2. Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
3. Hanley Ramirez, Marlins
4. Asdrubal Cabrera, Indians
5. Elvis Andrus, Rangers
6. Jimmy Rollins, Phillies
7. Johnny Peralta, Tigers
8. Erick Aybar, Angels
9. J.J. Hardy, Orioles
10. Alexei Ramirez, White Sox
11. Starlin Castro, Cubs
12. Yunel Escobar, Blue Jays
13. Emilio Bonifacio, Marlins
14. Derek Jeter, Yankees
15. Rafael Furcal, Cardinals
16. Jason Bartlett, Padres
17. Macier Izturis, Angels
18. Ian Desmond, Nationals
19. Cliff Pennington, A’s
20. Marco Scutaro, Red Sox

Jose Reyes is back from the disabled list and takes the top spot in August. Hanley Ramirez is finally hitting the ball, but I’ll play it safe and rank him third. The biggest riser is Erick Aybar. He is on pace to steal 35 plus bases and I think he’ll get there. He’s even chipped in seven homers this year. I had no choice but to include Emilio Bonifacio. I’m expecting him to regress and become well, Emilio Bonifacio, but so far, he hasn’t. Keep playing him until he cools off.

I dropped Alexei Ramirez a few spots. He is doing okay, but just isn’t really blowing me away in any category. I would expect more homers and/or steals.

If you have any question’s or comments on my rankings please follow me on twitter by clicking the button below OR e-mailing me at askROTObaseball@yahoo.com. You can also send long form fantasy baseball question’s to that address and I will answer them.

Leave a Reply

