July Outfielder Rankings

Posted: July 3, 2011 in Rankings

By David Kerr

Top 45 Outfielder Rankings

1. Matt Kemp, Dodgers
2. Ryan Braun, Brewers
3. Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox
4. Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies
5. Matt Holliday, Cardinals
6. Justin Upton, Diamondbacks
7. Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
8. Josh Hamilton, Rangers
9. Curtis Granderson, Yankees
10. Michael Bourn, Astros
11. Hunter Pence, Astros
12. Carl Crawford, Red Sox
13. Chris Young, Diamondbacks
14. Jay Bruce, Reds
15. Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners
16. Drew Stubbs, Red
17. Nelson Cruz, Rangers
18. B.J. Upton, Rays
19. Andre Ethier, Dodgers
20. Mike Stanton, Marlins
21. Shane Victorino, Phillies
22. Corey Hart, Brewers
23. Adam Jones, Orioles
24. Alex Gordon, Royals
25. Nick Markakis, Orioles
26. Jason Heyward, Braves
27. Jayson Werth, Nationals
28. Colby Rasmus, Cardinals
29. Carlos Quentin, White Sox
30. Carlos Beltran, Mets
31. Nick Swisher, Yankees
32. Michael Morse, Nationals
33. Matt Joyce, Rays
34. Bobby Abreu, Angels
35. Brett Gardner, Yankees
36. Alex Rios, White Sox
37. Rajai Davis, Blue Jays
38. Angel Pagan, Mets
39. Coco Crisp, A’s
40. Michael Brantley, Indians
41. Brennan Boesch, Tigers
42. Johnny Damon, Rays
43. Seth Smith, Rockies
44. Cameron Maybin, Padres
45. Carlos Lee, Astros

With 22 homers and 22 steals to go along with a .327 average, it was hard not to put Matt Kemp as my top outfielder for July. Ryan Braun is literally a hair behind him though. Carl Crawford should be back after the All-Star break and I suspect he’s going to break out soon. Jay Bruce at 15 may raise a few eyebrows, but I think he’s ready to put his bad month of June behind him and light it up in July (and the rest of the season). Nick Markakis has been hot recently, but just remember with his nice average you’ll get next to no power. I may have Jayson Werth at 27 too high right now. To be honest, with every day that passes the more I think he’s destined for a bad year. I have hope, but I’m losing confidence. I think Colby Rasmus will be turning it up very soon… Brennan Boesch has been a pleasant surprise again this season. Remember how hot he started when he got called up last season? He’s going to cool down.

If you have any question’s or comments on my rankings please follow me on twitter by clicking the button below OR e-mailing me at askROTObaseball@yahoo.com. You can also send long form fantasy baseball question’s to that address and I will answer them.

Comments
  1. Janp says:

    Looks good but I wouldn’t have ranked bj upton that high though.

  2. Janpesk says:

    I need to pick an OF and utility for this week. Options: Mark Reynold, bj Upton, Swisher, Rasmus, and Werth. What do you think? Thanks!

    • If you’re looking for the hottest hitter you’d have to go with Reynolds, surprisingly. Rest assured though, it won’t last. If you want the best option for the rest of the year I’d go with Upton or Rasmus. As long as you can withstand the low AVG. of Upton, he will help in HR and SB. Rasmus can help you all around once he turns it up. I think that will be very soon.

      • JP says:

        Thanks. I also emailed you my questions as I didn’t think this had gone through. Apologies for the duplicate queries.

Leave a Reply

